Here’s How To Watch The ‘Insidious’ Movies In Order

Embarking on the ‘Insidious’ movie series, you’re presented with two intriguing paths: following the story’s timeline or the release dates. Opting for the former, you’re in for a unique experience. Watching the movies chronologically unveils a narrative that unfolds in a linear fashion, enhancing your grasp of the plot twists and character growth. Conversely, if you choose to watch the movies in the order of their release, you’ll witness the evolution of filmmaking and storytelling techniques.

How to Watch the Insidious Movies in Chronological Order

Insidious Movies in Chronological Order

Watching the ‘Insidious’ movies in chronological order gives you a new view onof the story and how the characters evolve. Start with ‘Insidious: Chapter 3.’ In this film, Elise Rainier, a psychic, decides to come out of retirement to help a teenager who is dealing with ghosts.

Next, watch ‘Insidious: The Last Key.’ This one takes us back to Elise’s childhood and her first experiences with ghosts.

Then, go to the original ‘Insidious’ movie. It’s about the Lambert family who face off against spirits from a spooky place called The Further. ‘Insidious: Chapter 2’ picks up right where the first one left off, diving further into the family’s eerie experiences.

Wrap up with ‘Insidious: The Red Door,’ to tie everything together and add more to the story.

Order Movie Title Release Year Basic Storyline Continuation in Chronological Order
1 Insidious: Chapter 3 2015 A girl is haunted by a demon, and Elise Rainier helps her. Introduces Elise as a psychic who helps with hauntings.
2 Insidious: The Last Key 2018 Elise goes back to her childhood home to face a demon from her past. Explores Elise’s past and shows more of her background.
3 Insidious 2011 A family tries to save their son trapped in a dark place called the Further. Starts the main story with the Lambert family’s troubles.
4 Insidious: Chapter 2 2013 The Lambert family deals with more horrors from the Further. Continues the Lambert family’s story and their dark secrets.
5 Insidious: The Red Door 2023 The Lambert family faces new terrors and tries to end their nightmares. Aims to end the Lambert family’s struggles with the Further.

How to Watch the Insidious Movies in Release Order

Insidious Movies in Release Order

To get the fullwhole experience of the ‘Insidious’ series, it’s best to watch the movies in the order they were released.

Start with the first Insidious from 2011. This movie introduces the Lambert family who deal with some intense spirit world problems.

Next, watch Insidious: Chapter 2 from 2013. It picks up right where the first one left off, diving deeper into the Lambert family’s spooky experiences.

Then, go to Insidious: Chapter 3 from 2015. This one’s a prequel, giving you a look at what happened before the Lamberts’ haunting.

After that, check out Insidious: The Last Key from 2018, which reveals more about Elise Rainier, the psychic.

Finish up with Insidious: The Red Door from 2023.

Order Movie Title Release Year
1 Insidious 2010
2 Insidious: Chapter 2 2013
3 Insidious: Chapter 3 2015
4 Insidious: The Last Key 2018
5 Insidious: The Red Door 2023


Ultimately, the choice of how to watch the ‘Insidious’ series is yours. Opting for the chronological order, you’ll witness the story unfold step by step, gaining a deeper understanding of the characters and the plot. On the other hand, following the release order, you’ll experience the suspense and surprises as the creators intended. Whichever path you choose, both methods offer unique ways to engage with the series and its supernatural elements.

Leave a Comment