Here’s How To Watch All Halloween Movies In Order: Complete Guide

To get into the Halloween movie series, it’s best to watch them in a particular order. This helps you understand the story better, especially since it’s been unfolding for over forty years. The main bad guy, Michael’, has evolved a lot since the first movie. You can watch the movies as they were released or in chronological order. Both ways have their benefits. 

How to Watch All Halloween Movies In Order

To really get the Halloween series, it’s best to watch the movies in the order they were made. The series has a few different storylines, all centered around Michael Myers. Watching the movies in order tells a clearer, continuous story.

This way, you see how the characters and the plots develop over time. Each timeline has its own unique spin, but they all connect back to Michael Myers. By watching them in sequence, you get a better grasp of the themes and the characters’ journeys.

Chronological Order

Halloween Movies In Chronological Order

Getting to grips with the order of the Halloween movies can really make them more enjoyable, especially when you’re trying to follow the different storylines. Let’s start from the beginning. The first string of films kicks off with ‘Halloween’ from 1978, followed by ‘Halloween II’ in 1981, and it goes all the way to ‘Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers’ in 1995.

If you’re a fan of Jamie Lee Curtis, you’ll want to follow her specific journey. It starts with the original ‘Halloween’ from 1978 and ‘Halloween II’ from 1981. Then, there’s a big jump to ‘Halloween H20: 20 Years Later’ in 1998 and wraps up with ‘Halloween: Resurrection’ in 2002.

Rob Zombie put his own spin on the saga with two movies, beginning with ‘Halloween’ in 2007 and followed by ‘Halloween II’ in 2009.

The latest series, also with Jamie Lee Curtis, picks up again with the original ‘Halloween’ from 1978, skips a bunch of sequels, and heads straight to ‘Halloween’ from 2018. After that comes ‘Halloween Kills’ from 2021 and ‘Halloween Ends’ from 2022.

# Title Basic Storyline Continuation in Chronological Order
1 Halloween (1978) Michael Myers escapes from a mental hospital and returns to his hometown to kill. Starts the story of Michael Myers, showing him as a relentless killer.
2 Halloween II (1981) Michael follows Laurie to the hospital to kill her. Continues the same night from the first movie.
3 Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers Michael wakes from a coma and goes after his niece, Jamie. Brings Michael back after a long break, introducing his niece.
4 Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers Michael continues to hunt Jamie, who is in a children’s clinic. Follows directly after Halloween 4, with Michael still chasing his niece.
5 Halloween 6: The Curse of Michael Myers Michael returns to kill the last of his family and is revealed to be cursed. Adds a supernatural twist, explaining Michael’s unstoppable nature.
6 Halloween H20: 20 Years Later Laurie Strode, now with a new identity, faces Michael again after 20 years. Brings back Laurie, ignoring previous sequels and continuing from Halloween II.
7 Halloween: Resurrection A reality TV show at Michael’s childhood home goes wrong when he returns. Follows after Halloween H20, showing what happens next.
8 Halloween (2007) A reboot that retells Michael’s origin and first killing spree. Reimagines the original story with new details.
9 Halloween II (2009) Michael continues to search for Laurie after the 2007 reboot. Continues the rebooted story, showing more effects on Laurie.
10 Halloween (2018) 40 years after the original, Michael escapes and returns to kill Laurie. Direct sequel to the 1978 film, ignoring all other sequels.
11 Halloween Kills The town of Haddonfield fights back against Michael. Follows directly after the 2018 film, showing the town’s response.
12 Halloween Ends Laurie faces Michael one last time to end it all. Aims to give a final end to the conflict between Laurie and Michael.

Release Date Order

Halloween Movies In Release Date Order

Exploring when the Halloween movies came out helps us see how they evolved and impacted culture. You can check out the below list sorted as per their release date.

# Title Year
1 Halloween (1978) 1978
2 Halloween II (1981) 1981
3 Halloween III: Season of the Witch 1982
4 Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers 1988
5 Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers 1989
6 Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers 1995
7 Halloween H20: 20 Years Later 1998
8 Halloween: Resurrection 2002
9 Halloween (2007) 2007
10 Halloween II (2009) 2009
11 Halloween (2018) 2018
12 Halloween Kills 2021
13 Halloween Ends 2022


To wrap it up, Halloween movies are a great bunch of horror films you can enjoy more by watching them in a particular order. You can watch them by their release or the story’s timeline. Each way of watching helps you see how the stories and characters change over time. Getting to know these patterns can make the movies even more exciting and scary, keeping the Halloween series a favourite in horror films.

Leave a Comment