How To Watch ‘Batman’ Movies In Order: Ultimate Guide

Batman changes over time, reflecting the different directors’ visions and society’s shifting attitudes. This method makes the movies more enjoyable and shows how Batman’s story mirrors changes in the world of filmmaking and the broader cultural landscape. It’s fascinating to see how each era’s Batman fits into its time period, sparking conversations about how pop culture and history intersect.

Chronological Order of Watching Batman Movies

Let’s dive into Batman’s cinematic journey, starting from the beginning. 


No. Title Basic Storyline Continuation in Chronological Order
1 Batman: The Movie (1966) Batman and Robin stop Joker, Penguin, Riddler, and Catwoman from taking over. Shows Batman and Robin fighting multiple villains.
2 Batman (1989) Batman fights the Joker, who wants to take over Gotham City. Introduces Batman’s fight with the Joker.
3 Batman Returns Batman battles Penguin and Catwoman. Continues Batman’s fight against new villains.
4 Batman Forever Batman and Robin fight Two-Face and Riddler. Introduces Robin as Batman’s partner and new villains.
5 Batman and Robin Batman and Robin battle Mr. Freeze and Poison Ivy. Continues their partnership and introduces more villains.
6 Batman Begins Bruce Wayne becomes Batman to fight crime. Reboots Batman’s origin story.
7 The Dark Knight Batman faces the Joker, who causes chaos. Continues Batman’s fight with the Joker.
8 The Dark Knight Rises Batman returns to stop Bane from destroying Gotham. Concludes the Dark Knight trilogy.
9 Batman Vs. Superman: Dawn of Justice Batman and Superman clash before facing a bigger threat. Brings Batman into the wider DC universe, showing his clash with Superman.
10 The Lego Batman Movie Batman learns the importance of teamwork and family. A fun, family-friendly version of Batman.
11 Zack Snyder’s Justice League Expanded version where Batman helps unite heroes to face a greater enemy. Enhances the story and character arcs from the original cut.
12 The Batman Batman faces the Riddler, who targets Gotham’s elite. A dark and gritty take on Batman as a detective.

Release Order of Watching Batman Movies

The release order of Batman movies shows us how the character has changed in films over time. 

Batman The Movie 1966

No. Title Release Year
1 Batman: The Movie 1966
2 Batman 1989
3 Batman Returns 1992
4 Batman: Mask of the Phantasm 1993
5 Batman Forever 1995
6 Batman & Robin 1997
7 Batman Beyond: Return of the Joker 2000
8 Batman: Mystery of the Batwoman 2003
9 Batman Begins 2005
10 The Dark Knight 2008
11 Batman: Under the Red Hood 2010
12 The Dark Knight Rises 2012
13 Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Part 1) 2012
14 Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Part 2) 2013
15 Batman: Assault on Arkham 2014
16 Batman vs. Robin 2015
17 Batman: Bad Blood 2016
18 Batman: The Killing Joke 2016
19 Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice 2016
20 Batman: Return of the Caped Crusaders 2016
21 The LEGO Batman Movie 2017
22 Batman and Harley Quinn 2017
23 Batman: Gotham by Gaslight 2018
24 Batman Ninja 2018
25 Batman: Hush 2019
26 Batman: The Long Halloween (Part 1) 2021
27 Batman: The Long Halloween (Part 2) 2021
28 The Batman 2022

You may also like our recommended order of watching the Hunger Games.


To sum up, chronologically, watching the Batman movies helps you see how the character has changed over the years. Each director brings their style and ideas, and it’s interesting to see how the feel and look of the movies change with the times. It’s like taking a tour of movie history and seeing how Batman adapts to fit new eras and audiences. It shows just how timeless and adaptable Batman is, no matter the setting or the societal trends.

Keep visiting our blog The Jeep Diva to get more articles on recommended order to watch a movie.

Leave a Comment