How To Watch Spider-Man Movies In Order: Ultimate Guide

Watching the Spider-Man movies isn’t just about hitting play on each film in the order they came out. It’s about seeing how the story grows and how each Spider-Man—first Tobey Maguire, then Andrew Garfield, and now Tom Holland—brings something unique to the role. 

How to Watch the Spider-Man Movies in Order

If you want to dive into all the Spider-Man movies, you’ve got a couple of choices: you can watch them in the order they came out or by following the timeline of events in the story.

Watching the movies in the order they were released lets you see how Spider-Man’s world and character grow over time. On the other hand, watching them in chronological order makes the story flow better, as everything happens in order.

Chronological Order of Events


If you want to follow the Spider-Man story as it happens, watching the movies in chronological order is the way to go. Start with Tobey Maguire in ‘Spider-Man’ from 2002, then watch the next two sequels from 2004 and 2007.

Next up, Andrew Garfield takes over in ‘The Amazing Spider-Man’ in 2012 and its sequel in 2014. Tom Holland’s version begins in ‘Captain America: Civil War’ from 2016.

After that, check out his solo movies: ‘Spider-Man: Homecoming’ in 2017, ‘Spider-Man: Far From Home’ in 2019, and the one that brings different Spider-Man universes together, ‘Spider-Man: No Way Home’ in 2021 & then wrap it up with it’s two sequels.

Watching them in this order lets you see how the Spider-Man universe grows and how the character develops over time.

Chronological Order Movie Basic Storyline
1 Spider-Man After a spider bite, high schooler Peter Parker becomes Spider-Man. He fights crime and battles the villain Green Goblin.
2 Spider-Man 2 Peter Parker faces struggles as Spider-Man. He battles Doctor Octopus, a bad guy with mechanical arms.
3 Spider-Man 3 Peter fights his friend Harry, the bad guy Sandman, and the evil Venom. He deals with Venom’s bad influence.
4 The Amazing Spider-Man Peter Parker learns about his powers and past. He fights the Lizard, a scientist turned into a monster.
5 The Amazing Spider-Man 2 Peter Parker fights Electro and his friend Harry, who becomes the Green Goblin. The story also explores his parents’ mystery.
6 Spider-Man: Homecoming Peter balances school and being Spider-Man. He fights the Vulture, who sells weapons made from advanced tech.
7 Spider-Man: Far From Home Peter Parker goes on a school trip in Europe. He fights mysterious monsters and meets Mysterio, who claims to be a hero.
8 Spider-Man: No Way Home After his identity is revealed, Peter asks Doctor Strange for help, which leads to villains from other dimensions appearing.
9 Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse Miles Morales becomes Spider-Man and meets other Spider-People. They work together to save the multiverse from a villain.
10 Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse Miles Morales travels across the multiverse, meets new Spider-People, and faces big challenges.

Release Order

Watching the Spider-Man movies in the order they were released gives us a fresh look at how Spider-Man and his story grow. We start with Sam Raimi’s ‘Spider-Man’ in 2002. Here, we see Peter Parker as a high school student who turns into a seasoned hero across Tobey Maguire’s three films.

Next, we jump to ‘The Amazing Spider-Man’ series in 2012 and 2014. Andrew Garfield steps in with a new take on Spider-Man, giving us a darker, more thoughtful version of the character.

Then, Tom Holland takes over in ‘Captain America: Civil War’ in 2016. He brings a young, energetic vibe and connects Spider-Man with the larger Marvel Cinematic Universe. His journey leads us to the big event in ‘Spider-Man: No Way Home’ in 2021, where everything comes together in a huge, multiverse adventure, then there are two sequels to that multiverse adventure.

Spider-Man (2002)

Chronological Order Movie Release Year
1 Spider-Man (2002) 2002
2 Spider-Man 2 (2004) 2004
3 Spider-Man 3 (2007) 2007
4 The Amazing Spider-Man (2012) 2012
5 The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (2014) 2014
6 Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017) 2017
7 Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019) 2019
8 Spider-Man: No Way Home (2021) 2021
9 Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (2018) 2018
10 Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (2023) 2023

Available Streaming Platforms for Spider-Man Movies (Netflix, Disney+, etc.)

Watching Spider-Man movies is easy now with streaming services like Netflix and Disney+.

Movie Netflix Disney+ Amazon Prime Video Hulu
Spider-Man (2002) ✔️ ✔️
Spider-Man 2 (2004) ✔️ ✔️
Spider-Man 3 (2007) ✔️ ✔️
The Amazing Spider-Man (2012) ✔️ ✔️
The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (2014) ✔️ ✔️
Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017) ✔️ ✔️ ✔️
Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019) ✔️ ✔️ ✔️
Spider-Man: No Way Home (2021) ✔️
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (2018) ✔️ ✔️ ✔️
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (2023) ✔️


To put it simply, watching the Spider-Man movies in order lets you see how the character grows. You get to see different actors take on the role and how the story changes over time. It improves the whole experience because you can see the changes in themes and styles throughout the movies. So, if you want to get into Spider-Man’s world, this is the way to do it.

Leave a Comment