How To Watch Marvel Movies In Order: Release Date And Chronological Order

Starting a Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) marathon is a great way to dive into over a decade of amazing movies. When you watch them back-to-back, you get to see how the stories and characters grow. Each movie adds something to the story before it, weaving everything into a big, exciting tale.

The MCU mixes action, drama, and humour while exploring big ideas like heroism, sacrifice, and what it means to have power. Watching all the films doesn’t just entertain; it makes you feel closer to the characters and their journeys.

How to Watch Marvel Movies in Order

By Release Date

Watching Marvel movies in the order they came out is like watching the Marvel Cinematic Universe grow up. the story and characters develop just as audiences did then. You get to see how everything unfolds in the order the filmmakers planned.

This method isn’t just about watching the movies as they were released. It’s also about seeing how the stories and characters grow. Plus, you can spot all the changes in how the movies are made over the years. 

Iron man First Marvel Movie

Release Date Movie Title
May 2, 2008 Iron Man
June 13, 2008 The Incredible Hulk
May 7, 2010 Iron Man 2
May 6, 2011 Thor
July 22, 2011 Captain America: The First Avenger
May 4, 2012 The Avengers
May 3, 2013 Iron Man 3
November 8, 2013 Thor: The Dark World
April 4, 2014 Captain America: The Winter Soldier
August 1, 2014 Guardians of the Galaxy
May 1, 2015 Avengers: Age of Ultron
July 17, 2015 Ant-Man
May 6, 2016 Captain America: Civil War
November 4, 2016 Doctor Strange
May 5, 2017 Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
July 7, 2017 Spider-Man: Homecoming
November 3, 2017 Thor: Ragnarok
February 16, 2018 Black Panther
April 27, 2018 Avengers: Infinity War
July 6, 2018 Ant-Man and the Wasp
March 8, 2019 Captain Marvel
April 26, 2019 Avengers: Endgame
July 2, 2019 Spider-Man: Far From Home
May 7, 2021 Black Widow
September 3, 2021 Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
November 5, 2021 Eternals
December 17, 2021 Spider-Man: No Way Home
May 6, 2022 Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness
July 8, 2022 Thor: Love and Thunder
November 11, 2022 Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
February 17, 2023 Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania
May 5, 2023 Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3
July 28, 2023 The Marvels

By Chronological Order

Captain America The First Avenger

Watching Marvel movies chronologically allows you to see the story unfold sequentially. This way of watching the film makes it easier to understand how everything fits together over time. It shows how characters change and grow and how the plot builds up. This can make the whole Marvel universe feel more genuine and engaging as it gets bigger.

Order Movie Title Year Plot Chronological Order
1 Captain America: The First Avenger 2011 Steve Rogers becomes Captain America. He fights Red Skull in World War II. Steve Rogers’ story during World War II.
2 Captain Marvel 2019 Carol Danvers becomes Captain Marvel. She fights Skrulls and learns her past. Carol Danvers’ story in the 90s.
3 Iron Man 2008 Tony Stark builds a suit to escape. He becomes Iron Man. Tony Stark becomes Iron Man.
4 Iron Man 2 2010 Tony faces new enemies. He deals with health issues as Iron Man. Tony Stark’s new challenges as Iron Man.
5 The Incredible Hulk 2008 Bruce Banner seeks a cure for his Hulk problem. He avoids capture. Bruce Banner tries to control the Hulk.
6 Thor 2011 Thor is sent to Earth. He learns humility and fights his brother Loki. Thor’s exile to Earth and growth as a hero.
7 The Avengers 2012 Heroes team up. They stop Loki and an alien attack on New York. Formation of the Avengers to defend Earth.
8 Iron Man 3 2013 Tony battles PTSD. He faces a terrorist called the Mandarin. Tony Stark’s fight with trauma and a new enemy.
9 Thor: The Dark World 2013 Thor and Jane Foster stop Dark Elves from harming the universe. Thor fights to save the universe from a dark force.
10 Captain America: The Winter Soldier 2014 Steve Rogers fights a new threat: his old friend, the Winter Soldier. Steve Rogers faces a new enemy from his past.
11 Guardians of the Galaxy 2014 Misfits team up. They keep a powerful orb from evil hands. The Guardians’ first mission.
12 Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 2017 The Guardians face family issues. They fight Ego the Living Planet. The Guardians deal with personal conflicts.
13 Avengers: Age of Ultron 2015 The Avengers battle Ultron, an AI gone wrong. The Avengers face a powerful AI threat.
14 Ant-Man 2015 Scott Lang becomes Ant-Man. He does a heist to save the world. Scott Lang becomes Ant-Man and his first mission.
15 Captain America: Civil War 2016 The Avengers split over government control. The Avengers face internal conflict and split.
16 Black Widow 2021 Natasha Romanoff faces her past. She fights to end the Red Room. Natasha Romanoff’s fight against her past.
17 Black Panther 2018 T’Challa becomes king of Wakanda. He faces a challenger. T’Challa’s rise as king and defense of Wakanda.
18 Spider-Man: Homecoming 2017 Peter Parker balances school and being Spider-Man. He fights the Vulture. Peter Parker’s early days as Spider-Man.
19 Doctor Strange 2016 Stephen Strange learns magic to heal and protect the world. Stephen Strange’s journey from surgeon to sorcerer.
20 Thor: Ragnarok 2017 Thor and Hulk team up. They try to save Asgard from Hela. Thor and Hulk try to save Asgard.
21 Avengers: Infinity War 2018 Heroes unite to stop Thanos from getting the Infinity Stones. The Avengers and allies fight to stop Thanos.
22 Ant-Man and the Wasp 2018 Scott and Hope save her mother from the quantum realm. Scott Lang and Hope’s mission to rescue Janet.
23 Avengers: Endgame 2019 The Avengers try to undo Thanos’s actions. The Avengers’ final battle to reverse Thanos’s damage.
24 Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings 2021 Shang-Chi fights his father’s Ten Rings group. Shang-Chi fights against his father’s group.
25 Eternals 2021 Ancient aliens reunite to fight evil Deviants on Earth. The Eternals protect Earth from an old threat.
26 Spider-Man: Far From Home 2019 Peter Parker goes to Europe. He battles Mysterio. Peter Parker’s adventure in Europe.
27 Spider-Man: No Way Home 2021 Peter deals with his exposed identity. He faces villains from other worlds. Peter Parker’s struggle with revealed identity.
28 Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness 2022 Doctor Strange travels the multiverse to stop a big threat. Stephen Strange’s journey through the multiverse.
29 Thor: Love and Thunder 2022 Thor seeks peace but must fight Gorr the God Butcher. Thor’s quest for peace and new battle.
30 Black Panther: Wakanda Forever 2022 Wakanda defends itself after King T’Challa’s death. Wakanda’s fight to protect itself after T’Challa.
31 Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania 2023 Scott and allies explore the Quantum Realm. They face a new danger. Scott Lang’s exploration of the Quantum Realm.
32 Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 2023 The Guardians go on a final mission to protect one of their own. The Guardians’ final mission together.
33 The Marvels 2023 Captain Marvel, Ms. Marvel, and Monica Rambeau fight a space threat. Team-up to face a new cosmic threat.

You may also like our article on DC Movies in Chronological & Release Order.


In conclusion, watching Marvel movies in a specific order helps you get the big picture. You can watch them chronologically or in the order in which they came out. Both ways have their perks. Watching them chronologically lets you see the story unfold like it does in the Marvel world. It’s like reading the chapters of a book in order.

On the other hand, watching them in release order lets you experience the movies the way fans did when they first hit theatres. You see how the storytelling and characters grow over time.

Keep visiting our site The Jeep Diva for more such articles!

Leave a Comment