How To Watch DC Movies In Chronological & Release Date Order

Starting to watch the DC Extended Universe movies can be tricky. You might wonder whether to watch them in chronological order or by their release dates. Watching them chronologically lines up the story in order while watching them by release date shows how filmmaking and storytelling evolved.

Watch DC Movies in Chronological Order

Understanding the chronological order of the DC Extended Universe movies can enhance your story experience. Watching the movies in this order lets you see how the characters and the story develop over time.

Wonder Woman 1918

No. Movie Title Year Basic Storyline Chronological Order
1 Wonder Woman 1918 Diana leaves her island. She fights in World War I. She learns her true powers. Diana’s origin and first time in the human world.
2 Wonder Woman 1984 1984 Diana fights new enemies in the 80s. An old love returns. Diana’s heroics in modern times.
3 Man of Steel 2013 Clark Kent grows up on Earth. He learns to use his powers. Superman’s origin and first big battle.
4 Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice 2015 Batman fights Superman. They team up against a bigger threat. Batman and Superman meet and join forces.
5 Suicide Squad 2016 Bad guys do risky jobs for the government. They get shorter jail time if they win. Task Force X’s first mission.
6 Justice League 2017 Heroes team up. They save the world from a big danger. Formation of the Justice League to stop a big threat.
7 Aquaman 2018 Arthur Curry stops a war between land and sea. Aquaman becomes King of Atlantis.
8 Shazam! 2019 Billy turns into a hero by saying “Shazam!” He learns to use his powers. Billy Batson becomes Shazam and learns his powers.
9 Birds of Prey 2020 Harley Quinn and other heroes protect a girl from a bad guy. Harley Quinn becomes independent and teams up with new heroes.
10 The Suicide Squad 2021 Villains go on a mission. They must destroy an old lab. Task Force X’s new mission with higher stakes.
11 Black Adam 2022 An old hero wakes up. He brings his own justice to the world. Black Adam’s introduction and his kind of justice.
12 The Flash 2023 Barry changes the past. This creates new problems. Barry Allen’s time-travel adventure and its problems.
13 Blue Beetle 2023 Jaime gets alien armor. He gains new powers. Jaime Reyes becomes Blue Beetle.
14 Aquaman and the Lost Kingdom 2023 Arthur faces a new threat. He must find a lost kingdom to save his home. Aquaman’s quest to save Atlantis from a new danger.

Watch DC Movies in Release Date Order

Watching DC movies in the order they came out gives a clear view of how the franchise and its characters have grown. It starts with ‘Man of Steel’ in 2013, introducing us to the DC Extended Universe (DCEU) bit by bit. This way, we see how the storytelling and movie styles change over time

Man of Steel

Release Order Movie Title Release Date
1 Man of Steel June 14, 2013
2 Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice March 25, 2016
3 Suicide Squad August 5, 2016
4 Wonder Woman June 2, 2017
5 Justice League November 17, 2017
6 Aquaman December 21, 2018
7 Shazam! April 5, 2019
8 Birds of Prey February 7, 2020
9 Wonder Woman 1984 December 25, 2020
10 Zack Snyder’s Justice League March 18, 2021
11 The Suicide Squad August 5, 2021
12 Black Adam October 21, 2022
13 Shazam! Fury of the Gods March 17, 2023
14 The Flash June 16, 2023
15 Blue Beetle August 18, 2023
16 Aquaman and the Lost Kingdom December 20, 2023

You may also like our article on How To Watch Dragon Ball Series In Order?


To sum up, you can watch DC movies in two ways: chronologically or by their release dates. Watching them chronologically lets you see the story events unfold in order. On the other hand, watching them by release date shows you how the DC Extended Universe was built over time by its creators. Both ways help you better understand the storyline twists and character growth in DC movies.

For more movie orders article, keep visiting our blog The Jeep Diva.

Leave a Comment